Friday, December 25, 2009

Go Zenyatta, horses rule!

Thoroughbred filly Zenyatta, winner of this years Breeders’ Cup Classic, has come in second in the Associated Press’ Female Athlete of the Year award. She was edged out by tennis star Serena Williams. The results were announced yesterday.

AP member U.S. newspapers cast 158 votes, 66 of which went to Williams, and 18 of which went to Zenyatta. Thoroughbred filly Rachel Alexandra was also in the running, finishing 7th, with 10 votes.

Williams also received the title in 2002. The AP Athlete of the Year award began in 1931. Previous winners include Marion Jones, Bonnie Blair, and Monica Seles. A horse has never won the title.

To subscribe to San Jose Horses Examiner, click on the link above

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Bravo, is simply excellent idea